World Motor Sport Council release provisional Formula One 2017 calendar

The World Motor Sport Council has today released the provisional calendar for the 2017 Formula One season.

It appears very similar to what was released a number of weeks ago by, retaining a similar structure to the 2016 season and the record breaking 21 races. It is questionable that we will see 21 races again next season, with Canada, Germany and Brazil all marked as provisional.

As expected, the season starts later on March 26th in Melbourne, giving the teams a little more development time given the changes in regulations for the next season. This is a standalone even, with China and Bahrain now back-to-back, with Sochi the final ‘flyaway’ before the European season. Baku, once again back to back with Canada means there is a clash with Le Mans, while Sepang has an earlier slot before Singapore.

26 March Melbourne Australia
9 April Shanghai China
16 April Bahrain Bahrain
30 April Sochi Russia
14 May Barcelona Spain
28 May Monte Carlo Monaco
11 June Montreal Canada*
18 June Baku Azerbaijan
2 July Spielberg Austria
9 July Silverstone United Kingdom
23 July Budapest Hungary
30 July Hockenheim Germany*
27 August Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
3 September Monza Italy
17 September Sepang Malaysia
1 October Singapore Singapore
8 October Suzuka Japan
22 October Austin USA
5 November Mexico City Mexico
12 November Sao Paolo Brazil*
26 November Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates

About the author

Ashley Quint

Ashley founded the Purple Sector website back in 2012, later renamed to SpeedMajor which now covers both Formula 1 and Formula E. As well as writing on Formula 1, Ashley also works within the world of luxury travel and was a finalist in the Aspire Travel Trade Writer of the Year competition in 2013.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment