Chinese GP

Vettel fastest in rain hit final practice

Sebastian Vettel was fastest in the final free practice session at a rain hit Shanghai circuit ahead of qualifying this afternoon.

After a morning of persistent rain, showers hit the Shanghai circuit for the morning practice session which left little running early doors. A large amount of water on the circuit meant that the cars went out on the full wet tyre, before switching to the intermediate tyre during the latter part of the hour with the rain easing.

With times meaning little, Sebastian Vettel was fastest for Ferrari nearly seven tenths faster than Valtteri Bottas, who was the first to go out on the track with the wet weather tyres fifteen minutes in the hour. The German complaining that the car was ‘stuck in first gear’, while Sergio Perez was third for Force India.

Having set the most number of laps, Carlos Sainz was fourth in the Toro Rosso, ahead of Esteban Gutierrez and Jolyon Palmer who had a tyre failure. His teammate Kevin Magnussen was seventh, from Pascal Wehrlein, Max Verstappen and Nico Hulkenberg.

While call the cars went out on the circuit, not all did competitive full lap times. Both Red Bull drivers set fast sector times but not a full lap, while both McLarens, both Mercedes, Romain Grosjean and Marcus Ericsson didn’t set a time.

1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m57.351s 3
2 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m58.061s 0.710s 7
3 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m58.689s 1.338s 4
4 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m58.800s 1.449s 9
5 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1m59.526s 2.175s 7
6 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1m59.677s 2.326s 7
7 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1m59.761s 2.410s 9
8 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1m59.964s 2.613s 8
9 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Ferrari 2m00.150s 2.799s 6
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 2m00.158s 2.807s 4
11 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 2m00.197s 2.846s 8
12 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 2m00.812s 3.461s 5
13 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 2m02.438s 5.087s 4
14 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 2m02.732s 5.381s 5
Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 3
Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 3
Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 4
Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/TAG Heuer 4
Nico Rosberg Mercedes 2
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/TAG Heuer 3
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2
Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1


About the author

Ashley Quint

Ashley founded the Purple Sector website back in 2012, later renamed to SpeedMajor which now covers both Formula 1 and Formula E. As well as writing on Formula 1, Ashley also works within the world of luxury travel and was a finalist in the Aspire Travel Trade Writer of the Year competition in 2013.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment