Hungarian GP

Hamilton starts weekend fastest in FP1

Mercedes laid their marker for the rest of the weekend, leading the first session of the day with Lewis Hamilton faster than newly re-signed teammate Nico Rosberg.

As expected, the lap times were fast with Lewis Hamilton clocking a 1:21.3, several tenths faster even than his 2015 pole position time, and that is just on the first session on a Friday. Pole position on Friday could be substacialy faster than that. The time was set on the supersofts, after a damp start to the session which meant most of the drivers went out on the intermediates with a short gap while the teams let the track dry.

Behind the top two, it was like Noah’s Ark, with the teams mainly coming in two-by-two. Ferrari were the best of the rest, although they were a second and a half down on the Mercedes duo, once again also recently re-signed Kimi Raikkonen ahead of Sebastian Vetttel. His former team was behind them, a track they are highly fancied to do well on but they only set their times on the slower soft compound tyre – Daniel Ricciardo ahead of Max Verstappen with a four tenths of a second gap between the two.

It was a fast start to the day for McLaren, although at times erratic for both drivers, the two inside the top ten. Romain Grosjean and Sergio Perez rounded out the top ten.

As we have seen for the past couple of races, teams allowed a couple of their young drivers out during practice – Charles Leclerc was sixteenth for Haas, while Esteban Ocon was eighteenth for Renault.

1. L. Hamilton Mercedes 01:21.347 34
2. N. Rosberg Mercedes 01:21.584 34
3. S. Vettel Ferrari 01:22.991 22
4. K. Raikkonen Ferrari 01:23.082 19
5. D. Ricciardo Red Bull 01:23.174 28
6. M. Verstappen Red Bull 01:23.457 27
7. F. Alonso McLaren 01:23.935 28
8. J. Button McLaren 01:23.961 18
9. R. Grosjean Haas 01:24.013 22
10. S. Perez Force India 01:24.073 29
11. N. Hulkenberg Force India 01:24.120 29
12. F. Massa Williams 01:24.154 27
13. V. Bottas Williams 01:24.370 33
14. C. Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso 01:24.579 27
15. M. Ericsson Sauber 01:24.981 19
16. C. Leclerc Haas 01:25.181 22
17. F. Nasr Sauber 01:25.256 18
18. E. Ocon Renault 01:25.260 28
19. D. Kvyat Toro Rosso 01:25.324 16
20. R. Haryanto Manor 01:27.012 23
21. P. Wehrlein Manor 01:27.249 9
22. J. Palmer Renault 01:28.560 6

About the author

Ashley Quint

Ashley founded the Purple Sector website back in 2012, later renamed to SpeedMajor which now covers both Formula 1 and Formula E. As well as writing on Formula 1, Ashley also works within the world of luxury travel and was a finalist in the Aspire Travel Trade Writer of the Year competition in 2013.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment